Skip to content

Update: Larkin Sleigh Crib & Ikea Mammut Toddler Bed

September 21, 2010

I just want to reiterate how great the Pottery Barn Larkin Sleigh Crib has been for us. I recently moved my son Piven into the crib as he is just too big to fit in the Bugaboo bassinet now. I did buy new crib bedding during my obsessive research stage when I was pregnant. (litto kids retro mushroom crib set; side note, I embarrassingly spent over $250 on this set and see it now on sale for $90. It’s a beautiful set and gender neutral. Update: I can’t find this set anywhere online now so if you really want it and see it somewhere grab it.) The crib is still very sturdy, surviving many sessions of Vivien using it as a jungle gym, climbing over the ends and the side rail. It is a big crib though taking up a lot of space physically and visually.

Space is certainly an issue in the kids’ room so we decided on Ikea’s Mammut toddler bed for Vivien. She loves the idea of her pink bed (comes in blue too, but wish there was a green). She’d still prefer to sleep in our bed but likes to take naps in her bed. It’s rounded edges are nice just in case monkeys are jumping on the bed. Quality is fine and pretty easy to put together but best to have two people and not be pregnant when putting it together. You have to buy the mattress from Ikea as well as it’s not a standard US bed size. It’s a few inches smaller in length and width than a twin which makes a big difference in a small space. We got the most expensive mattress, about $100, but it’s still not great. I don’t like sleeping on it for sure. We added a twin size cover to protect from bed wetting which does add a little padding/comfort. We bought the sheets as well from Ikeda. Why not, they are cheap and fit the mattress great…but you could use a twin and just tuck the extra under just fine.

Overall we like it and would recommend the Mammut toddler bed for a small room especially if it’s for just a few years.

Original post about Pottery Barn Kids Larkin Sleigh Crib

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 6, 2011 1:22 am

    I’ve been searching in google for some items and accidentally found this mamalaide.com blog. Aw, this is a really qualitative post. In theory I’d like to write like this too – taking time and real effort to make a good article… but what can I say… I loiter alot and never seem to get something done.

Leave a comment